Cultural Learning Differences – Six Principles

I am reading a paper, Communicating Cross-Culturally: What Teachers Should Know, as part of some additional teacher training that I am taking.  Part of my assignment is to express my thoughts on the information this paper presents and how I plan to implement these strategies into my class. I thought I’d share the 6 principles and then in subsequent posts share my thoughts for each principle. Please share your thoughts with me.

The 6 principles are:

  1. Ways of Knowing – How do cultures come to acquire information?
  2. Ways of Solving Problems – Cultures have different ways of solving problems
  3. Ways of Communicating Non-Verbally – Cultures have different ways of communicating non-verbally, and it is crucial for teachers to be aware of these differences.
  4. Ways of Learning – Generally speaking, different cultures also learn in different ways.
  5. Ways of Dealing with Conflict – Some cultures view conflict as a positive thing, while others view it as something to be avoided.
  6. Ways of Using Symbols– In the multi-cultural school setting, symbols that are unique to various cultures should be correctly understood and interpreted.
    About acohen843

    I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    