Conversation Classes

When I was training to be an ESL teacher, my classmates and I thought teaching conversation classes was the easy way to go. Our teachers told us they were the hardest to teach and they were right.

Yesterday I was teaching a writing class. I began the class as a conversation class to get ideas going and then had the students transfer those ideas into a composition. The topic – “Is Music the International Language?” The class was very successful.

Today I taught a conversation class. Since everybody has opinions about music, I decided to use the same topic. The class failed. It was like pulling teeth. After 30 mins., I changed the topic.

It is interesting how a class can work well with one group of students and then fail with another group of students. The class worked well with my Brazilian students. It didn’t work well with my mixed group of students – Turkish, Saudi Arabian, Korean, Venezuelan, Spanish, and Mexican. The mixed class is also at a higher level than my Brazilian students.

I always enjoy talking about music or using music in class. My original degree is in music theory.

Is music the international language? Many say yes, but I don’t think so.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in education, English as a Second Language, ESL, music, teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

