Music and Messages

Today, a friend dedicated a song to me – I Can’t Get No Satisfaction by the Rolling Stones. He used an application called iLike, a Facebook app that allows you to select your favorite artists and to dedicate songs to others. When you click on the dedication, a YouTube video plays the dedicated song.

I guess my friend was having a bad day. That app provided a comical way for my friend to tell me that his day was rough.

Using a song to express feelings and thoughts can be a fun way to teach ESL. I can have my students talk about a song that they listen to when they are sad.

They can share the lyrics with the class. They can talk about why that song makes them happy. What specific words affect them!

If this exercise is for a writing class, the students can rewrite the lyrics in their own words.

A simple, comical, song dedication let a friend tell another friend that he was having a rough day. I knew it wasn’t serious by the song’s title.

Sometimes music is the best tool for communication.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in education, English, English as a Second Language, ESL, learning, Mozart Effect, music, teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

