My classes were so boring I almost left

Two classes I taught today were so boring I wanted to leave. Usually I’m running around the classroom, doing crazy things, and making sure that the students are having fun while they learn. However, I’m teaching for a month at a new school and I just haven’t clicked yet with the students.

YouTube is very popular with the students. Since YouTube has some nice content for teaching as does TeacherTube, I thought it might be a good idea to use some of these videos in class. Media resonates with these students.

I need to teach phrasal verbs. I like the following video. It gets the job done and I think my students will enjoy the tone of the presenter.

Some of my students need to learn how to write an essay. Here’s a useful YouTube video that will also exercise my students’ listening abilities.

I’m also teaching To Kill a Mockingbird for a Masters Class. Here are some videos from TeacherTube.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in education, English, English as a Second Language, ESL, fiction, free teaching resources, teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

