What Makes Good Language Learning Sites

One of our readers asked that I write about what makes good language learning sites. The most important aspect is live interaction between teachers and students. All language sites should either provide voice/video communication or make it easy for teachers and students to communicate via Skype or other VOIP programs such as MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger and so on.

Language learning sites also need prerecorded lessons. While communication between teacher and student is adament, the student also needs resources to practice privately.

A project that I am creating is to provide well-structured lessons using language learning sites. Currently, I find Skype interaction to be useful but casual. I am creating structured lesson plans that guides content from the variety of existing language learning sites. For example, if a student wants to learn English, they will learn from lesson plans that use the prerecorded lessons on LiveMocha, the user-generated content from italki, and information from other language learning sites.

Please let me know if you want to help me with this project.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in education, English, English as a Second Language, ESL, free teaching resources, learning, teaching, technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Makes Good Language Learning Sites

  1. Mike says:

    hey, I enjoyed your blog. I have found an amazing resource for language learning that you may find invaluable – http://www.virtuallanguagetutor.com

    It gives you the interaction with a Virtual Teacher for a fraction of the cost of a live tutor.
    Anybody tried it?

  2. acohen843 says:

    I just took a look at virtuallanguagetutor. I think it may be nice for review or learning some basic phrases, but the sight is not designed for learning.

  3. Hey All,

    I have also found and have been using, what I think to be another great language learning website called http://www.edufire.com! I think the site’s simplicity and tools are great for anyone trying to learn a new language. Just another suggestion.

  4. gorka arce says:

    hi don´t forget to check out http://www.palabea.net
    feedbacks welcome;)

    thanx

  5. I’ve got to say that my favorite language exchange site is InterPals, not a language site per se, but rather an online penpal site — I’ve found that the detailed interaction with speakers of foreign languages (in my case German and Russian), has done significantly more for my language skills than the lesson plans and flash cards on other sites — or the casual multilingual “hello how are you’s” you get on many of these other sites. Anyway, just thought I’d let you know, since it seems that penpal sites are often under the radar of language learners! (Who would have though penpalling would have survived into the online era! =)

  6. tellmemoreusa says:

    TELL ME MORE offers a great e-language learning site! This is the most comprehensive online language learning solution available, with advanced speech recognition and a wide variety of activities. http://tellmemoreusa@wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

