Random Thoughts

It is interesting to see how well both YouTube and TeacherTube works in class. Whether I am teaching phrasal verbs, how to write an essay, or we are having a class discussion about marketing American products internationally, I can enhance a class by finding YouTube or TeacherTube videos.

YouTube and TeacherTube speaks to my students. Like any source, whether it is print or Internet, you need to verify or discuss the truth of the video. Just because it is on the Internet, just as just because it is printed, doesn’t mean that it is true or the information is correct.

Wikipedia is another useful source for finding supplementary materials for a class. Since I teach students from around the globe, I may have my students read the Wikipedia pages about their countries and see if they can add any additional information. I’ll help them with their grammar. I think my students will enjoy seeing their words published and maybe some will be inspired to contribute additional material.

I’ve been using Facebook consistently for the past month. I created an account last year and over the last month some high school friends of mine have found me. It is nice learning about how their lives have evolved.

Does anyone use Facebook for educational reasons? Just curious. If so, please share your thoughts with me.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in education, English, English as a Second Language, ESL, free teaching resources, learning, teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Thoughts

  1. There are 2 teas which i find comforting, Throat Coat and Breathe Easy. The two are variations of licorice, mullein, mallow and other ingredients. Licorice and mullein are great to soothe the airways.

Leave a Reply

