Billy Mays

I was saddened to hear that Billy Mays died yesterday. His infomercials influenced me. They gave me the final push to become more involved with marketing and sales. I like good speakers and pitching products can be fun. It is a part of American culture. I remember Ron Popeil selling his Veg-O-Matic, the Ginsu knife, Pocket Fisherman, Chop-o-matic, etc. These products and pitching illustrate the creativeness of our culture and our independent flair.

Many find this line of work vulgar. “I don’t sell!” they say. “You’re lying.” I reply. Everybody sells! Job interviews are a place where you sell your skills. Everyday that you program, do accounting, write, provide customer service, whatever, you are selling your skills and abilities. When you are at your best behavior when your eye catches that special man or lady, you are selling. And, you are pitching yourself. “Have a drink with me, not the other guy or lady.”

I will miss Billy Mays. He found his niche and found a way to make a living in a manner that he enjoyed. My hat is off to you. You did great work.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Billy Mays

  1. tiphut says:

    I wrote a post about Billy and posted a few videos and dub …RIP Billy! You were a GOD!

    http://tiphut.wordpress.com/2009/06/29/and-wait-there-no-more-billy-mays-dies-at-age-50-a-tribue/

Leave a Reply

