Learning Languages

How well do language CDs, books, and other methods work for those that want or need to learn a foreign language? I am going to explore a variety of methods and share my results with you.

I am beginning this exploration by learning some Japanese. Why Japanese? I was in a discount store last Sunday and they had a variety of language learning CDs on sale. I know nothing of Japanese and the language is vastly different than the smattering and bits and pieces of languages that I know (Spanish, French, etc.). I purchased the Instant Immersion Japanese Levels 1, 2, & 3 for $29.95. I like Japanese culture and philosophy, so this should be fun.

If anyone is using the Instant Immersion series or other language CDs/DVDs, please share your thoughts. Also, anyone know of a good, inexpensive Japanese grammar book?

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning Languages

  1. I found the Teach Yourself and Colloquial series a useful and inexpensive way to start into Korean. (I already speak Japanese.)

    Having learned 11 languages myself, I would not spend much time on grammar books. These inexpensive starter courses give you all you need. Mostly you need to listen a lot and read a lot.

  2. beaumaines says:

    I think that if you want to evaluate language-learning techniques, Japanese is a good way to go just because it is so different from English. The vocabulary, grammar, and writing systems are all so different, I think it’s a real test of a method’s effectiveness.

Leave a Reply

