Learning Japanese – Day 1

The Instant Immersion program uses a game and quiz approach. When you begin, a message tells you that your goal is earn 1,800 point.

The initial screen offers you a variety of choices. They are: first words, food, colors, phrases, body, numbers, time, shopping, and countries. I chose first words. This choice presented me with five options: word practice, speaking practice, easy game, hard game, and print picture dictionary. I wasn’t sure where to begin so I clicked on the help button.

  • Word Practice – Listen to new words and record your pronunciation.
  • Speaking Practice – Practice the new words you have learned.
  • Easy & Hard Games – Games to learn Japanese. It is suggested that you may want to begin your language learning by playing the easy game.
  • Print Picture Dictionary – Build your own dictionary with 270 color pictures – make flash cards.

I began with the Easy Game. A lady says four words in Japanese. A picture is shown with each word. Next, a man says one of the previously said words in Japanese. You need to select its meaning from a list of the meanings of the four words. I did well; I got all correct for 50 points. After 5 mins., I didn’t remember any of the words but that was fine. At this point, it is more important that I become more familiar with listening and adapting to the rhythms of the Japanese language. It is also a good reminder for me when I teach ESL; speak slowly, a new language sounds very strange. I do believe that the program would be more effective if the man and woman were Japanese instead of American (or European).

Next, I began the word practice exercises. They are nice. Both the male and female speakers alternate saying the words. Some Japanese words that I have learned are:

  • hai – yes
  • denwa – telephone
  • ohato – good morning
About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

