Chelsea, My Hometown

Today, I completed the first series of virtual tours with a visit to my hometown of Chelsea. This city was and still is a city of immigrants. That is the beauty of the city. The names on the store signs have changed, the languages have a different rhythm but Chelsea is still alive and vibrant. It is a good place to be.

Our virtual tour began in Chelsea Sq. by the police station, the old Polish section of town. We then walked up Broadway a bit and saw the home of Chelsea’s theater company, The Apollinaire Theatre Company. Next, Chelsea’s most famous landmark Katz’s Bagels. The old Shurtleff School (now the John Silber Early Learning Center), the old Spritzies, and Bunker Hill Community College (the old post office.)

A walk down Broadway displayed the diversity of the city – Asian, Latino, and American restaurants and store fronts. One student remarked that Broadway was charming.  Our tour ended with a walk up Bellingham St., to Shawmut St., to the house where I grew up on Chester Ave.

I’m planning some more virtual tours which I hope bring you to the heart of the communities I visit. Technology and eduFire has the potential to bring people together. I will explore this potential as we learn together.

Click here to view my photographs of Chelsea.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

