In Search of a Soccer Team

I love soccer! My initial enticement began as I taught English as a Second Language. Soccer became the universal lingua, my wild card. Whenever I needed to make an analogy or to get students to talk, soccer, or as my students like to say, football, was the magic word. Being a curious person, I began to read about the game and watch some soccer matches. Rivalries are fierce; this is the only game where I’ve seen grown men and women cry when their teams were eliminated from World Cup competition. The only time I cried when my team lost was back in 1967 when I was 12 and watched my beloved Red Sox, Yaz, and the Impossible Dream team lose to the St. Louis Cardinals.

So soccer has become my mistress. I’m reading some interesting related books, Thinking Outside The Box (Being a goalie is my dream; yes, I’m a bit crazy;) The Beautiful Game, Soccer Against the Enemy, Soccernomics, Africa United, and Kabul Girls Soccer Club. I have the passion and am learning the different viewpoints about the game.

My students ask me which team I support. Naturally, being from MA., I tell them the New England Revolution. However, they want me to pick a team on the world’s stage. Barcelona, Madrid, Liverpool, Chelsea, Roma, etc. This type of decision is like politics; my choice will define to them who I am.

Help me choose a team. Please comment about why your team should be my team. Send me links. I’ll remain a die-hard New England Revolution fan but there is room for another team. Your suggestions, please.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Search of a Soccer Team

  1. Dave Navarre says:

    There’s a good book on Football in Germany reviewed at http://bloggywogg.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/sports-at-the-worst-of-times-germany-wwii/

    Looks like it might be up your alley. I’m considering SM Caen (just promoted to Ligue 1!) since I generally spend a week near them each year….

Leave a Reply

