I Made a Lady Smile Today

A Mitzvah is an act of human kindness. It can be an act of charity, compassion, or other expression of kindness.

The word Mitzvah has many different meanings. It could refer to the commandments in the Torah, along with the seven rabbinic commandments. In modern society, though, Mitzvah is most often used as a term to refer to an act of human kindness. A Mitzvah is an important part of Jewish society, just as it is important with other religions as well.  religion.adherents.com

Since my father just passed away, I’ve learned that one way to honor his life is to perform Mitzvahs when possible. I like this idea of performing random acts of kindness; it is something that my father did. For me, this is the best way to honor his life and memory.

I decided to write about this because I thought that this is a great way to live your life and the way the world is today, these acts could only make the world a better place. However, at a time when many are in need, how can people perform Mitzvahs or random acts of kindness? It is simple and inexpensive. Somebody in work does something nice? Buy him or her a cup of coffee as a way of saying thank you. A driver stops to let you cross the street? Smile and say thank you. You are driving and someone needs to enter the highway? Stop and let them in front of you. Random acts of kindness are inexpensive.

So how did I make a lady smile today? An acquaintance I see at the local coffee shop is having some hard times. I bought her a cup of coffee. She mentioned she is looking to rent a room. Not an apartment, just a room where she can have some privacy. She’s working a minimum wage job and is interviewing for an evening job (also minimum wage) where she will have to take two buses to get to work and two buses for the return trip. I bought her a newspaper so she could check for rentals.

So why am I writing this? Certainly not to brag. Simply – performing Mitvahs or random acts of kindness make you feel good. In today’s dog-eat-dog, over-competitive, me, me, me, world, it’s nice to know that helping someone still feels nice.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

