The God Upgrade

A few months ago I read and reviewed the book, God in the Wilderness, by Rabbi Jamie Korngold. I enjoyed this interesting book which related nature to Judaism.

Rabbi Korngold has just written a new book, The God Upgrade. I haven’t read this book yet but the book discusses how the concept of God has changed through the years. I also believe that this book makes the premise that our concept of God should change if religion is to continue to exist.

I think this is an intelligent idea. My rabbi and I had a discussion recently when my father died. As I was giving him information for my dad’s eulogy, I mentioned that my dad told me that going to a synagogue does not make you a good person. What makes you a good person is how you live your life and how you treat people on a daily basis. The rabbi stated that religion is a guide that helps you become a better person, it does not automatically make you a good person.

Societies evolve and so must religion and the concept of God if religion is to comfort and guide us in the future. Medical ethics, technology, economics, inter-racial and inter-religious marriages, etc.,  all present challenges, challenges that did not exist in the past. For religion to be relevant to our lives, it needs to evolve to meet the challenges that confront us.

I look forward to reading and writing about Rabbi Korngold’s new book. Click here to request the first chapter free of charge.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

