Healthy Quick Food?

When I ask my students what is American food, they answer, “fast food.” That is American cuisine according to my students.

The cafeteria at the college where I teach can make you an awesome bacon cheeseburger with curly fries, chips and a small soft drink for about $5.00. For those that want a healthier choice, you can buy a small chicken caesar salad for $6.00 and some organic fruit juice for an additional $3.99.

A few years ago, I was visiting my father while he was in the hospital. The hospital’s cafeteria sold cheeseburgers, fries, onion rings, a variety of flavorful pizzas in addition to pop tarts, cookies, candies, and ice cream sundaes. There was a salad bar among the deli and sub sandwich sections.

I understand business and certainly cafeterias will sell what people will buy. That makes sense. Business is business. In life though, we do place certain responsibilities on role models and expect certain behaviors from people and institutions that we trust. Shouldn’t hospitals whose doctors promote good health also serve a variety of healthy meals?

I’ve begun cooking my meals to save money and to eat healthier. I’m a pretty good cook so my food taste better than what I can buy at work. Maybe that is the best way to eat healthy. However, shouldn’t there be healthy quick food alternatives available at reasonable prices?

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

