Dinner at the Dumpster

Want to go food shopping and pay nothing? Want to have a lovely meal at the dumpster, free of charge? Many supermarkets throw away food that is still good to eat. Should it go to waste? Many people think it shouldn’t.

One of my ESL students asked me if I was familiar with the word freegan. We were about to read an article about wasting food. I wasn’t familiar with the word so, when in doubt, google.

“Freegans are people who employ alternative strategies for living based on limited participation in the conventional economy and minimal consumption of resources. Freegans embrace community, generosity, social concern, freedom, cooperation, and sharing in opposition to a society based on materialism, moral apathy, competition, conformity, and greed.” – http://freegan.info/

I have my reservations about taking and eating completely packaged food from dumpsters although I see the logic in this philosophy. Much food that is thrown away is edible.

I asked two of my classes if they eat food after its expiration date. Everyone said, “No.” I was surprised. My students turned the table and asked me the same question. I replied, “Yes.” Milk in my refrigerator that has passed its expiration date can be checked my a sniff or a quick taste. Canned and packaged goods can be checked. I told them that my logic is that food does not automatically go bad by the tick of the clock.

We see food wasted every day. At the end of a party, people will throw away food that nobody wants to take home. Restaurants and food stands throw away food that is prepared but not sold.

So, while this article introduces the freegan philosophy, you are responsible for your own choices, whether you decide to embrace or partake in this way of life. However, keep in mind the food you throw away and determine if it is always necessary.

Enjoy the following video.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

