Going Vegan For a Week

I am going vegan for one week from Sunday, May 15th till either Friday, May 20th or Saturday, May 21st (I may have to go to a function Friday evening where eating vegan may not be a possibility.) So, what is vegan? What can I not eat?

“A vegan (pronounced VEE-gun) is someone who, for various reasons, chooses to avoid using or consuming animal products. While vegetarians choose not to use flesh foods, vegans also avoid dairy and eggs, as well as fur, leather, wool, down, and cosmetics or chemical products tested on animals.” – http://www.vegan.org/about_veganism/index.html

I will give up one of my favorite foods, cheese. I’ve purchased some vegan alternative cheeses for this experiment. I’m a regular drinker of soy milk, rice milk, and almond milk so I’ll just have to remember to order black coffee when I’m not at home. While I generally don’t eat a lot of eggs, I’ll have to check salad dressings and other products to see if they contain any eggs or dairy products.

Why this challenge? I began teaching myself to make healthier eating choices and this new skill is becoming a passion. There is also value, I believe, in pushing oneself into different environments, in this case, an environment without any food products from animals. It should expand my food choices as I search for healthy alternatives.

I have no plans to become a full-time vegan. However, I believe this will help me become more aware of the variety of healthy foods available.

Updates will be published and please feel free to offer me suggestions and, naturally, your thoughts and comments.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going Vegan For a Week

  1. Thanks for posting this nice article!

  2. I didn’t know that.

  3. matt laclear seo says:

    Good points

Leave a Reply

