Vegan Project Update

Last week, I wrote about going vegan for about a week. I have gone vegan for almost a week, have learned more than I thought I would, and have stopped eating strictly vegan.

Could I stay on a completely vegan diet? Yes. It takes some work, you need to read food labels which is actually a good thing. Some pastas contain eggs, some do not. Some products contain milk as an ingredient as part of the cooking process. Some products state that they are processed in places that also process dairy products. My biggest challenge was no cheese. Vegan cheese substitutes are not cheese. I love cheese and if being vegan was extremely important I know I could give up cheese. I haven’t owned or watch TV in two years so making exclusions is something I’m capable of doing if necessary.

My goal is to eat healthy. Eating vegan has taught me that I have no doubt that I could be a vegetarian. While I like beef, I haven’t craved for it nor have I craved for poultry. I don’t like fish so living on grains, vegetables, fruits and dairy products would be fine by me.

I understand being vegan from religious and philosophical points of view. While I wouldn’t eat dairy products every day I see no reason to exclude them.

The most important thing I’ve learned is that eating healthy is not hard. Cook more than you eat out, eat less processed food (the food displayed around the four walls of a supermarket are the freshest food and the non-processed food.) Eat vegetables, fruits, and grains. Read the food labels and note the difference between calories per serving and how many servings a package contains. Keep an idea on the amount of sugar and sodium in the product. Use moderation for the foods that you know are not good for you.

And remember … carrot cake is not a vegetable.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

