Living With Depression

I enjoy life and daily see the humor in life. People like that I always smile, am always quick to tell a joke, and I see the bright side of life. By the way, I also take medication for depression. I’ve been taking this type of medication for the past 20 years.

Why am I telling the world that I take medication for depression? The reason is simple. If you feel depressed get help! There is no shame having depression. Depression does not make you a bad person. Some people feel superior because they say they are normal. Trust me, they’re not. Some people will feel superior thinking that depression makes you a lesser person. To those people I say to their face, “Better to take medication than to be you!”

It took me a few years to get help. At first, I believed that I was just having a bad day here and there. Some other common excuses – everyone feels like this and if I take medicine I’ll lose my creativity. I’m a writer; all artists are crazy.

I finally got smart and got help when I realized that I was depressed for two weeks for every month of the prior year. I decided that I was not going to waste another 6 months of my life.

My first step was therapy. It was the best decision of my life. I learned that some of my depression was based on the way I treated and reacted to life. This is like the person who never smiles, is always grumpy, and wonders why life is so terrible. Your attitude and actions determine a lot about your life. As my dad always said, “Smile and the world smiles with you. Cry and you cry alone.”

After a year of therapy, I was prescribed medication. Therapy improved my life immensely. However, there was a bit of a destructive edge that the medication removed.

Naturally, I have an occasional bad day. That is normal. Living with depression doesn’t mean that life is forever pleasant. It is OK to be angry, to get disappointed, to be sad when appropriate. Living with depression teaches you to get in touch with and to understand your feelings. That is being normal.

Once when I told a friend that I was taking medication for depression he said, “Why are you depressed? You have know reason to be depressed.” I replied, “That is why I take medication.” If you have no reason for being depressed, that is when you should ask for help.

There is no shame for having depression or any other illness of the mind. Do the right thing. Get help and enjoy life again.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

