A Man’s Work/Worth

There is an interesting quote from the book “blue highways” by William Least Heat-Moon that is applicable to today’s economic crisis. From page 211,

“A man’s never out of work if he’s worth a damn…A man’s work is doing what he’s suppose to do, and that’s why he needs a catastrophe now and again to show him a bad turn isn’t the end, because a bad stroke never stops a good man’s work.”

I like this quote because I see life as a journey where the unexpected adds meaning. It teaches us not to become complacent and not to become enamored with job titles. I once had a boss who told all his employees that they could have any title that they wanted. Job titles were cheaper than raises. I learned a lot from his philosophy. I could be the CEO, a vice president, manager – whatever I wanted. I still earned minimum wage but I had a fancy title.

People identify themselves by their profession. They mistakenly believe that one profession is worth more than another. That is not true. All jobs provide value. My dad taught me that a person does not pay another to do a worthless job. It may be a job that they themself don’t want to do but it does have value.

The current economic crisis has challenged many of us in terms of employment. Our lives travel many paths, and we may do many jobs in our lives. They are not worthless.

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

