My Generation is Gone

While having coffee at the local Dunkin Donuts this afternoon,  I met a 91-year old gentleman named Tom. God bless him; he is in better  shape than me and wiser than me. During our conversation, he mentioned that at his age, all his friends are gone; they have all passed on. My dad use to say the same thing that his generation is gone. It’s a shame but that is part of life. Makes one appreciate the friends we have.

He talked about the old times in Revere and how times were nicer. He mentioned the street cars that passed through the city.

I am just 10 years more than half his age, but I remember the street cars. One aspect of local public transportation that I always liked is that it made people part of their community. Local public transportation brought a community together; people met and talked with each other on the street cars. It made life a bit slower which was a good thing. My dad also said that people were in a rush to go nowhere and we see that every day based on the way people drive.

Certainly we can’t go back in time; that is life. But it would be nice if people were part of their communities and people were more civil. That part of our past we can bring to the present.

And to my friends, I appreciate your friendship. As my dad said, “Give people roses while they can still smell them.”

About acohen843

I am a writer and ESL teacher who enjoys the challenge of starting businesses. Currently, I am a JuicePlus distributor (www.acohentakesjuiceplus.com) who is using this business opportunity as the foundation of a social entrepreneurship project.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

